

# All-Party Parliamentary Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness Group

www.loanchargeappg.co.uk

# Inaugural Meeting of the Loan Charge & Taxpayer Fairness Group Tuesday 10<sup>th</sup> September 2024, 3:00pm

Room S, Portcullis House, Westminster, London. SW1A 2JR

# **Minutes**

## Those present:

#### **Parliamentarians**

Greg Smith MP (Chair), Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP, Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP, Karl Turner MP, Neil Coyle MP, Emily Darlington MP, Rt Hon Sir David Davis MP, Tim Farron MP, Rt Hon Sir Julian Lewis MP, Jessica Morden MP, Pamela Nash MP, Gareth Snell MP.

### **MP Aides**

Rory Kinlan (Office of Neil Coyle MP)

#### **Other Attendees**

Richard Clancey (APPG Secretariat), Greg Mulholland (APPG Secretariat), Malathi Sriram (Guest)

## **Apologies**

Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale MP, Sarah Olney MP, Daisy Cooper MP

# 1. Introduction

The Chair opened the meeting and explained how the All-Party Parliamentary Loan Charge and Taxpayer Fairness Group was first formed in January 2019 (originally as the Loan Charge APPG) and has existed since then in successive parliaments and that the inaugural meeting was to re-form the APPG.

It was agreed to re-form the APPG.

The remit of the APPG was agreed as being: To raise concerns about the Loan Charge legislation and associated HMRC action against thousands of freelance, contract and locum workers and small company owners in the UK, as well as the wider context of fairness of the tax system and the conduct and performance of His Majesty's Revenue and Customs and accountability of HMRC.

The Chair (Greg Smith) told the meeting that James Murray, the Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury, had invited him and Sammy Wilson to a meeting during the summer recess and at that meeting, he (Greg) had proposed a meeting with people facing the Loan Charge, which took place with very powerful and moving testimony given by those in attendance. *Action:* APPG Secretariat to make redacted impact statements available to officers.

Co-Chairs: Sammy Wilson MP, Greg Smith MP Vice-Chairs: Emily Darlington MP, Karl Turner MP

#### 2. Election of Officers

The following officers were elected:

Role	Name	Party
Co-Chair (Chair & Registered Contact)	Rt Hon Sammy Wilson MP	Democratic Unionist Party
Co-Chair	Greg Smith MP	Conservative
Vice-Chair	Emily Darlington MP	Labour
Vice-Chair	Karl Turner MP	Labour

# 3. Appointment of Secretariat

The re-appointment of the Loan Charge Action Group as the APPG's secretariat was proposed by Greg Smith MP and seconded by Rt Hon Sir David Davis. All agreed.

#### 4. Accounts

The Loan Charge Action Group provided the APPG secretariat during the dissolution year (7<sup>th</sup> Jan 2024 to 30<sup>th</sup> May 2024) with a contribution in the range £10,501 - £12,000 (available on the website here)

The APPG's estimated annual spend is based on last year's income & expenditure (available on the website here) with a contribution in the range £43,501 - £45,000.

# 5. Suggested Initial Activity

- Letter from the APPG to the Treasury about a fresh, independent Loan Charge review (following meetings attended by Greg Smith and Sir David Davis in August with James Murray, Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury).
- A new call for evidence (the last one was conducted in March 2022)
- Activity to look at the recoverability of the Loan Charge

#### 6. AOB

The Chair told the meeting that Loan Charge victims had met with the Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury and that many had been highly emotional when giving testimony. *Action:* APPG Secretariat to make redacted impact statements available to officers.

Malathi Sriram spoke as a witness and victim of the Loan Charge and explained how Bailiffs acting on the instruction of HMRC had locked her out of and forced the sale of her family home. *Action:* Greg Smith MP requested that the Secretariat make an updated impact statement of Malathi's case be made available to officers.

In response to a question from the Rt Hon Sir Julian Lewis, the Chair confirmed that the APPG would continue to challenge why HMRC have not targeted promoters of Loan schemes.

Co-Chairs: Sammy Wilson MP, Greg Smith MP Vice-Chairs: Emily Darlington MP, Karl Turner MP

# 7. Date of Next Meeting

To be decided by Officers in discussion with the Secretariat.

Meeting closed at 3:45pm.

Co-Chairs: Sammy Wilson MP, Greg Smith MP Vice-Chairs: Emily Darlington MP, Karl Turner MP